Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Google To Delete All Private Profiles On July,31

As google is nearing to open Google+ publicly, its final guidelines are also being touched. Here are some important information updated on the Google+ Help section

As it is a social network, to connect and share with your friends, your full name and gender will be mandatory public, rest information can be edited to be private. By this google believes its product will be best used.



From the google help section:

"The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.
Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.
If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011."

This makes a big difference between Google+ and Facebook, as in Facebook you can set your profile to be completely private and it doesn't even show in facebook and google search, but in Google+ your name and sex will be public and will be included in search results.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share It